Great Start Collaborative Membership

Your Voice Matters

Our Great Start Collaborative membership is a group of diverse voices and change agents. From elementary school principals to parents of young children, each member is an active participant and committed to building and reforming the local childhood system. Through regular meetings, strategic plans are created to make a collective impact—and ultimately improve early childhood education.

To initiate change, we require a full, engaged body. Without it, we cannot start the right conversations. If you’re interested in becoming a member, please contact our Great Start Director.

Executive Team Members

  • Maureen Hale PNC Bank, Chair
  • Joann Hoganson Kent County Health Department, Vice Chair
  • Jessica Turk Great Start Parent Coalition
  • Paula Brown Great Start Collaborative Director, Staff
  • Leslie Hawkins Great Start Collaborative Coordinator, Staff
  • Kate Lara Grand Rapids Public Schools
  • Lisa Ellison Great Start Parent Representative
  • Kristin Gietzen Arbor Circle
  • MaDonna Princer Head Start
  • Heather Boswell First Steps Kent
  • Ashley Karsten Kent Intermediate School District
  • Chana Edmond-Verley I2 Collective, Vice Chair
  • Kristyn Bomberg WGVU

Parent Partners

  • Anthony Queen
  • Jessica Turk
  • Fredricka Brown
  • Tomarra Richardson
  • Julie Young
  • Tana Martin
  • Nicole Burman
  • Lisa Ellison
  • Reyna Garcia
  • Latesha Lipscomb
  • Joslyn Ward
  • Joseph Mitchell
  • Wayne Hill
  • Christina Pocklington
  • Da'Mon Bracey
  • Olga York
  • Cara Sutliffe

Member Meetings

  • Member Meeting
    Date: October 24, 2019
    Time: 1:30 – 3pm
  • Member Meeting
    Date: December 12, 2019
    Time: 1:30 – 3pm

*These meetings are closed to the public.

Lessons From Past Meetings

Become Part of Our Collaborative
Join Today